bhagavad gita chanting

of 48 /48
Page 1 of 48 Srimad Bhagavad Gita (All 18 chapters) Chanting Why should we study or chant the Bhagavad Gita? The Vedas are eternal. They exist even when material creation (Prakriti, shrushti), as we know it, disappears! They are the embodiment of all knowledge. Everything that can be known, everything that is to be known, everything that was ever known, is contained in the Vedas. There are four sections to each Veda Samhitas, Brahmanas, Aranyakas, and Upanishads. The Upanishads come last and are the most difficult part of each Veda. Now, you can see how merciful Krishna is. He took all of the Upanishads and milked their very essence and converted it into the Bhagavad Gita like a bee that extracts sweet nectar to produce honey from literally millions of flowers. All of the teachings of all of the Upanishads are condensed in the Bhagavad Gita. Hence, the Gita is also called the GitOpanishad. This is also the meaning of the famous verse SarvOpanishadO gaavo dogdhaa Gopaala-nandanahaa and why we study/chant the Gita.

Author: vlaxmanan

Post on 29-Nov-2014




15 download

Embed Size (px)


Gita Yagnyam (chanting all 18 chapters) is scheduled at the Sri Balaji Temple of Great Lakes, in Sterling Heights, Michigan on December 18, 2011, during the holy month of Maragashirsha (Margazhi), which commences on December 16, 2011. In chapter 10 of the Bhagavad Gita (known as Vidhuti yoga chapter) Krishna says,Maasaanam MargasheershOham rutoonaam Kusumaakarah ll 10.35 llKrishna is very fond of this month and identifies Himself fully with this month. Hence, this month is dedicated to prayers and spiritual activities all over India. In the attached Word document, I have compiled all the introductory slokas (in English transliteration) and provided all the links for Gita dhyanam and Gita Mahatmyam and described the procedure that will be adopted on Dec 18, 2011. Gita Shastram idam puNyam yah pattet prayatah pumaan lVishNoh padam avaapnoti bhaya shokaadi varjitahaa llOne (pumaan, literally human) who takes up the diligent (prayatah) study (pattet) of this extremely holy and purifying (puNyam) Gita shastra attains the lotus feet (padam) of VishNu, i.e., the abode of the Supreme, and lives freed of all fear and sorrows.This is the first of slokas which are part of the Phalashruti, recited at the end of each Gita session. The key word here is prayatahaa, as in prayatnam (used in many Indian languages) which means to try, put an effort, be diligent. The Gita Yagnyams prepare us for such an effort.


Invalid document format