delhi visit

Post on 03-Apr-2018




0 download

Embed Size (px)


  • 7/28/2019 Delhi Visit


    PDF generated using the open source mwlib toolkit. See for more information.PDF generated at: Sat, 20 Oct 2012 01:51:07 UTC

    Delhi Visit

  • 7/28/2019 Delhi Visit




    Delhi 1

    New Delhi 23

    Old Delhi 39

    Jaipur 44

    Pushkar 55

    Agra 61

    Taj Mahal 74

    Agra Fort 91

    Fatehpur Sikri 97

    Udaipur 105

    Qutb Minar 117

    List of State Protected Monuments in Delhi 121

    Flagstaff Tower 123

    Jantar Mantar (Delhi) 125

    List of Monuments of National Importance in Delhi 127

    List of Monuments of National Importance in Agra district 160

    List of Monuments of National Importance in Agra circle 170

    List of palaces in Rajasthan 182


    Article Sources and Contributors 184

    Image Sources, Licenses and Contributors 188

    Article Licenses

    License 197

  • 7/28/2019 Delhi Visit


    Delhi 1


    Delhi Federal district

    National Capital Territory of Delhi

    From top clockwise: Lotus temple, Humayun's Tomb, Connaught Place, Akshardham temple and India Gate.


    Location of Delhi in India.

    Coordinates: 283636N 771348E

    Country India

    Federal district National Capital Territory

    Settled 1638

    Incorporated 1857

    Capital Formation 1911


    Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit (INC)

    Lt. Governor Tejendra Khanna

    Area Federal district 1484.0 km2 (573.0 sq mi)
  • 7/28/2019 Delhi Visit


    Delhi 2

    Land 159.0 km2 (61.4 sq mi)

    Water 18.0 km2 (6.9 sq mi)

    Elevation 0125 m (0409 ft)

    Population (2011)[1]

    Federal district 11,007,835

    Rank 2nd

    Density 3,886/km2 (10,065/sq mi)

    Metro[2] 16,314,838

    Metro rank 2nd

    Metropolitan 21,753,486 (1st)

    Demonym Delhiite

    Time zone Indian Standard Time (UTC+5.30)

    ZIP code(s) 110001-110098, 1100xx

    Area code(s) +91 11

    Ethnicity Hindi, Punjabi


    Delhi (/dli/; pronouncedDillee in Hindi), officially the National Capital Territory of Delhi (NCT) that includes

    the Indian capital New Delhi, is the second most populous metropolis in India after Mumbai, with a population of16.3 million in 2011. The city is also the eighth most populous metropolis in the world.[2][4] The NCT and its urban

    region have been given the special status of National Capital Region (NCR) under the Constitution of India's 69th

    amendment act of 1991. The greater NCR urban, which includes the neighbouring cities Baghpat, Gurgaon, Sonepat,Faridabad, Ghaziabad, Noida, Greater Noida and other nearby towns, has nearly 22.2 million residents.[5]

    Delhi is known to have been continuously inhabited since the 6th century BC.[6] Through most of its history, Delhi

    has served as a capital of kingdoms and empires. It has been invaded, ransacked and rebuilt several times,

    particularly during the Medieval era, and therefore the modern city of Delhi is a cluster of many cities scatteredacross the metropolitan region. Delhi is also believed to have been the site of Indraprastha, the legendary capital of

    the Pandavas during the times of the Mahabharata.[7] Delhi re-emerged as a major political, cultural and commercial

    city along the trade routes between northwest India and the Gangetic plain after the rise of the Delhi sultanates.[8][9]

    It houses many ancient and medieval monuments, archaeological sites and remains.

    In 1639 AD, the Mughal emperor Shahjahan built a new walled city in Delhi which served as the capital of theMughal Empire from 1649 until the Rebellion of 1857. [10][11] The British had captured Delhi by 1803 and George V

    announced in 1911 that the capital of British-controlled parts of India would be Delhi. [12] A new capital city, New

    Delhi, was built to the south of the old city during the 1920s. [13] When India gained independence from British rulein 1947, New Delhi was declared its capital and seat of government.

    The nameDelhi is often also used to include urban areas near the NCT, and to refer to New Delhi, which lies withinthe metropolis. Although technically a federally administered union territory, the political administration of the NCT

    of Delhi today more closely resembles that of a state of India with its own legislature, high court and an executive

    council of ministers headed by a Chief Minister. New Delhi is jointly administered by the federal Government ofIndia and the local Government of Delhi, and is the capital of the NCT of Delhi.
  • 7/28/2019 Delhi Visit


    Delhi 3

    Etymology and idiomsThe nameDelhi is thought to derive fromDhillu orDilu, a king of Mauryan dynasty who built the city in 50 BC and

    named it after himself.[7][14][15] The Hindi/Prakrit word dhili (loose) was used by the Tomaras to refer to the city

    because the Iron Pillar built by Raja Dhava had a weak foundation and was replaced.[15] The coins in circulation inthe region under the Tomaras were called dehliwal.[16] Some other historians believe that the name is derived from

    Dilli, a corruption ofdehleez or dehaliboth terms meaning 'threshold' or 'gateway' and symbolic of the city as agateway to the Gangetic Plain.[17][18] Another theory suggests that the city's original name was Dhillika.[19] As perBhavishya Purana, Prithviraj Chauhan, the King of Indraprastha built a new fort in the modern-day Purana Qila area

    for the convenience of all four castes in his kingdom. He ordered the construction of a gateway to the fort and later

    named the fort dehali.[20]

    The people of Delhi are referred to as Dilliwallahs orDelhiites.[21] The city is referenced in various idioms of the

    Northern Indo-Aryan languages. Exa